Tower of the Hand: A Hymn for Spring

https://i1.wp.com/assets.towerofthehand.com/media/bluebuddha/hymnforspringtease.jpg

“Robert was the true steel. Stannis is pure iron, black and hard and strong, yes, but brittle, the way iron gets. He’ll break before he bends. And Renly, that one, he’s copper, bright and shiny, pretty to look at but not worth all that much at the end of the day.”

Hey everyone, hope you’ve had a good holiday season. So, about a year ago, Marc Kleinhenz, one of the editors from the Tower of the Hand website, asked me if I’d like to contribute an essay to their upcoming Tower of the Hand e-book known as “A Hymn for Spring.” Being the person I am, I pitched 3 ideas to him. One of those ideas was accepted. So, I started writing and editing and then re-writing and then re-editing. This process went on for 5 or so iterations until I finally had a rough-but-good-enough product for the book.

Anyways, here’s the teaser image & the pre-order date if you’re interested. The book will be released on April 15, 2015, but pre-orders will be available on March 15, 2015. (Mark your calendars!)

Will I be revealing all that the essay is about today? No sir/ma’am. However, I am willing to reveal the 1st two words of the title of my essay. It’s “Iron Bends.” For those of you all who’ve been with us for a long time, I was a guest on the awesome Radio Westeros podcast and talked about the topic with them (if you want a little sneak preview).

But if it were me alone writing, it wouldn’t be worth the price of admission. So, the good folks at Tower of the Hand recruited luminaries such as:

Guys & Gals, I couldn’t be more excited about this lineup. I can’t reveal the essays from these writers yet, but you’ll have to take my word on it: they’re awesome. So, mark your calendars and stand-by. I’m sure I can generate a few more teases before the publication date!

2 Comments

Filed under ASOIAF Analysis, ASOIAF Meta

2 responses to “Tower of the Hand: A Hymn for Spring

  1. So it’s 03.16.15 already, where’s the pre-order? ,)

    • I guess the day has come and gone. We’ve been told by our editor that the pre-order date is being pushed back to April 1st, 2015. Stay tuned for a longer update later today!

Leave a Reply

