The Ravenry: Week of 6/15/2015

tumblr_nmyx2fR1Ob1roumhko1_500

As you may or may not know, Wars and Politics of Ice and Fire has its own Tumblr page (as well as its own Twitter and Facebook pages).  Even more excitingly, a little while back we here at the blog partnered with ASOIAF University to answer questions about A Song of Ice and Fire.  We – that is, myself and SomethingLikeaLawyer – take the text-based questions submitted to us, write up thoughtful text-based answers, and publish these answers on the Tumblr.

So every Monday we present to you The Ravenry.  We collect the questions we’ve answered during the previous week over on the Tumblr in post form, with a brief description of each, and publish it here, and link that post on Twitter and Facebook as well. It’s like Best Week Ever, except with fewer bright flashy graphics and probably no Paul F. Tompkins (not that he’s not welcome).

So, without further ado, here’s The Ravenry for the week of 15 June:

As always, we love to hear your text-based questions, so if you have a burning question about ASOIAF, click this link to send us a raven. The more specific the question, the better text-based answer we can write, although we do our best to answer them all.

Love you lots,

The Queen Regent (NFriel)

5 Comments

Filed under ASOIAF Analysis, ASOIAF History, ASOIAF Meta, ASOIAF Political Analysis, Ravenry

5 responses to “The Ravenry: Week of 6/15/2015

  1. Matt

    Hey, I don’t have any thrilling insights or questions for you at the moment but I wanted to say that I listen to your podcasts and read your articles. I particularly enjoy Nina’s write ups, I really appreciate how highly detailed they are and also the violent future path series is another favorite. I love any and all speculation on tWoW in the long and bitter winter that is the wait between books. I read them all though, of course, and they’re all well done.

    There’s really no one (besides on the many threads) in my life that I can have informed discourse about the books with and let’s face it, the threads can be hit or miss, mean people and trolls notwithstanding. Once a friend of mine finished the books and I figured we could chat theories, and of course we did, or I did. It turned into what felt like a lecture, I ended up using my cat’s toy as a laser pointer and the Map Book posters that I framed for reference, fortunately my buddy was good sport and a big enough fan of the book and show to have enjoyed it. Then I realized that there’s always going to be several rereads, listening to the books on tape, the prequel novellas, the graphic novels, Twoiaf and hours of analysis like your podcasts still setting us an ocean of material apart. Needless to say I’m a superfan of George’s work and your podcast is the next best thing to breaking it all down with like-minded individuals. Thanks for posting all your hard work, please keep them coming as I’m sure you will.

  2. Dan

    I have to disagree with the notion that Robert would have come before Rhaella or Rhaenys. If that were the case, dany would have no claim to the throne over any male baratheon.

    • I think it’s hard to say. Certainly, in the patriarchal society that is Westeros, lords are always going to feel more comfortable following a man rather than a woman. Just how far these lords will go to make that a reality … Well, that’s the question.

      Succession also doesn’t happen in a vacuum. We can sit and say “Well, the next Baratheon heir after Stannis and Shireen would be the siblings of Ormund and their children”, but that doesn’t mean any of them will claim Storm’s End (or the Iron Throne). Succession politics is as much about the people as their bloodlines. Robert’s a vigorous young man at the time of the Rebellion, popular and charismatic; Rhaella was a woman dominated by her abusive husband, Rhaenys just a little girl. Would lords truly have fought for either of these ladies over Robert? Some, sure. Enough? That’s a harder question to answer.

      • Dan

        I think that’s a good very good point about personage. Yet, I feel that Robert and his Baratheon brothers were not looked at as members of the royal family pre-rebellion, which is rather stunning considering that for most of his life, Robert was second in line to Rhaegar, until the birth of Viserys (I would agree that Rhaella, once Aerys’ Queen, and beaten and battered as she was would never even have stood as Regent, let alone Queen in her own right). I look to Renly’s justification for claiming the throne I’m Clash as proof of this; he says that after the rebellion, a line was drawn between Robert and the Targaryens but only because the maesters were so concerned with it. Robert won his throne in rebellion, not because of his name. I think if only Rhaella and Rhaenys remained, the throne would have passed to Rhaenys. Other houses, particularly those with Targaryen ancestors, would have looked at Robert as an upjumping Baratheon, not a Targaryen. A lot of this also has to do with the unique period for the Targaryens following summerhall- it would be the first succession crisis where there was a problem of not enough Targaryens- so I believe the daughter of the last surviving male crown prince would gain traction over the grandson of a targaryen woman who had only ever served as Lady of Storms End. Though, either way, you are almost certainly correct in saying that all noble houses would not be in agreement one way or the other, so there would be conflict.

        Regardless, Thanks for responding and keep up the great work!

  3. athelas6

    I love all of your works. I particularly enjoyed The Three Heads of the Dragon” series and also the speculative thought of Something Like a Lawyer’s essay on female succession. While I feel women could definitely rule, I understand some of the reasons it is not palatable to Westeros. I don’t mean prejudicial reasonings, however. It’s mainly the fact of who the potential queen would marry which could definitely incite factious times.

    Elizabeth I, maneuvered clear of the muddy waters of marriage by being “married” to the realm. Yet, even if a queen did not marry in Westeros, upon her death the kingdom, or queendom would still require an heir that could again prove tumultuous for the realm. Of course, having dragons could smooth the way.

Leave a Reply

